I love to read but usually am stuck in the college rut of knowing I should be doing work instead of reading for fun. Being a second-semester senior however, most of 2017 will actually not involve me being in school so I should have more opportunity to pleasure read:) I have a very random assortment of books  in mind for this year and would love any opinions or suggestions as well!

1. Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable by Nassim Nicholas Taleb  blackswanA business book I’m hoping will inspire my graduation and entrance into the working world. It’s about dealing with the unexpected and why it’s important to look into alternatives

2. Cold-Case Christianity by J. Warner Wallace

coldcasechristianWritten by a homicide detective that became a Christian after searching for legitimate proof of Jesus’ existence, an interesting read for any Christian or sceptic. As a Christian, I still am looking forward to seeing some of the hard historical evidence he spoke of when promoting this book!

3. Enough: Why the World’s Poorest Starve in an Age of Plenty by Roger Thurow

enoughThurow is a prominent figure in the world of fighting hunger and always gives a good insight into the base problems within our food system. This one is a little heavier but should be a very inspiring read.

4. The Stranger by Albert Camus
stranger

Fast paced, this book is said to hold your attention till the end.  Its a quick read and a classic. 

5. Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg

81byyj2rpl-_sl1500_

An iconic book that talks about women in the work force and that drive towards equality. In September I’ll  be starting my career at a large company in IT Consulting and want to get as much advice as I can before taking on work challenges and opportunities. 

6. Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King

download-11

King is always a crazy writer but his books never cease to keep me guessing.  This is the beginning to a trilogy so we’ll see if I get sucked in. 

7. Helter Skelter by Vincent Bugliosi

helter

With “The Girls” being all the rage around now I thought this book might be a little more telling and give a little more insight into the Charles Manson ordeal, and who doesn’t like true crime stories?

8. Americas First Daughter by Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie

firstdaughter

This book is a tale about Thomas Jefferson’s eldest daughter, Patsy.  The book is heavily researched and drawn from letters and sources from the time.  I love reading about our founding mothers and it seems like this one knew a lot about how our country became what it is today. 

9. Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

darkmatter

This book is a bit science-fiction about waking up in a world that is not your own.  Showing how choices you make can create an entirely different life for your future.  

10. The Feminist Fight Club by Jessica Bennett

I’m never sure how I feel about the F-word but I’ve heard this author speak about how this isn’t just about doing away with men, it’s about supporting other women in the workplace and understanding how to deal with people that only see your boobs not brains.

11. Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson

stev_9780812994520_cvr_all_r2.indd

A showcase into the politics within our justice system as told by a young lawyer.  This book has inspired so many and is a book I want to read to keep an open mind and put myself in other’s shoes. 

12. The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

e51115743d5b2d6871265c3a38118e5e

I’m actually going to get one of his collections but it’s always nice to read classics and this one has always been said to showcase Wilde’s humor.

13. The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy

dudavocado

Both a romance and comedy, I chose this book to lighten up the list as well as read about a woman going out and just living. 

14. MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche

mwf-png

A story about a woman who moves cross country and gets married, then realizes she needs to try to make friends, sounds pretty close to home for me so hopefully I’ll pick up some pointers!

15. The Food Activist’s Handbook by Ali Berlow

foodactivist

This reading goal is part of my passion to help change our food system into one that is ethical, healthy, and eliminates the hunger we have in our world – big and small ideas to make the changes we need.

~Ari

